Any body competitor can probably share with you some of the oddest foods or combination of foods they ate during competition prep. I might venture that being vegan, it gets even stranger.

We Sometimes Eat the Weirdest Shit in Prep

Stories of a Midlife Bikini Mom
2 min readJul 12, 2023

--

You know how articles publish statistics on how many hours humans typically spend sleeping, on their phones, watching TV, etc? I wonder how many hours I stand in front of a microwave or airfryer.

I believe a lot of hours, overall.

This is the thought that ran through my mind as I stood in front of the microwave waiting for it to heat/cook my oat…puck type patty. What is an oat puck, you might ask? It’s a combination of a tiny bit of quick oats, vital wheat gluten and some stevia formed into a patty type thing.

Prep foods are weird.

Any body competitor can probably share with you some of the oddest foods or combination of foods they ate during competition prep. I might venture that being vegan, it gets even stranger.

Before you ask me where I get my protein, I will say that I have no trouble getting in my protein. But I will save those questions for the experts who can answer more effectively such as Natalie Matthews, Korin Sutton, Robert Cheeke, Muscles by Brussels and the entire PlantBuilt Team.

Back to prep foods…

So this oat patty is a recipe I snagged off of Natalie Matthews’ YouTube channel. She posts under Fit Vegan Chef and if you haven’t seen her work, go look now. Truthfully, when the carbs begin to drop, it can get harder and harder to find satiating foods that fit into the numbers you need to meet. Being vegan, it can be a little more of a challenge not to go over the carbs and fats since carbs and fats are in everything we eat, to a varying degree.

Imagine my excitement when I saw this little oat patty on her YouTube channel and realized it was only about 10 (TEN) grams carbs and 8 grams of protein! What is the magic little cookie/patty/puck?

It’s not bad, either. Although ask me again after I am out of the hole and am back to eating regular foods. Dieting can give us different tastebuds and the flavors that seem mundane while we are not dieting suddenly seems gourmet while in a deficit.

I’ve come to the point where I grate zucchini and carrots into my oatmeal. Last night I felt like I ate the most delicious dessert ever — melted dark chocolate over edamamae (another of Natalie’s creations). If anything, this time is helping me eat mindfully. I appreciate every bite with gusto. I look forward to the next meal. I delight in flavors like cinnamon and cardamom.

Or I am just food-focused; another symptom of being in a deficit.

Now I am off to eat my lunch — a bed of mixed salad greens, seitan and sugar-free, fat free dressing.

--

--